Joey Mead

Professor; Director of the Nanomanufacturing Center

University of Massachusetts, Lowell

She received her S.B. in chemistry from MIT (1981) and her Ph.D. in Polymers from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering from MIT (1986).  She worked for over 10 years as a Materials Engineer for the Army Research Laboratory in Watertown, MA.  She is a Distinguished University Professor, David and Frances Pernick Nanotechnology Professor in the Department of Plastics Engineering at the University of Massachusetts Lowell.  She is also the Director of the NSF I/UCRC SHAP3D and Director of the Nanomanufacturing Center at UMass Lowell.  She was previously the Deputy Director of the NSF Center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing.  She received the George Stafford Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching & Research in 2018 from the Rubber Division of the American Chemical Society.  Her research interests include nanomanufacturing of polymeric materials, structure-properties of polymers, elastomers, and thermoplastic elastomers.  She has over 200 publications and 10 book chapters.