Carl Dekker


Met-L-Flo Inc.

Carl K. Dekker serves as the President of MetL-Flo, Inc., a growing Service Center for Additive Manufacturing located in Sugar Grove, IL. He has been actively involved in research and product development using current technologies and innovative methods.

Mr. Dekker has presented his work at various conferences globally, including those sponsored by 3DSNASUG, Amerimold, ANTEC, National Mfg Week, RAPDASA, RP&M, and SME. He has also provided training and installations at Abbott Laboratories, Delphi, Motorola and numerous other locations. Mr. Dekker’s work has been published in industry journals including Prototyping Technology, Rapid Prototyping Report, Time Compression Technologies, and the Wohlers Report, to mention a few.

Currently the Chair of the ASTM F42 Committee on Standards for Additive Manufacturing and a Past Chairperson of the SME’s Rapid Technologies and Additive Manufacturing (RTAM) Community (formerly the RPA), he also serves as the Chair of the Direct Digital Manufacturing Tech Group of the RTAM. Being actively involved in fostering education he teaches the Rapid Technologies and Additive Manufacturing Technologies Certificate Programs and also remains active in the Bright Minds Program as a member and Past Co-Chair. He holds a Master Certificate in Rapid Prototyping and is a proud recipient of the SLA “Dinosaur” award.

Past and present positions held include: Chair of the ASTM F42 Committee on Standards for Additive Manufacturing 2014 (2009-2013 as Vice Chair), Rapid Prototyping and Manufacturing Conference Advisor (2002-15), Industry Advisory Board Member for Rapid Tech (2010-2014), RapidTech National Visiting Committee Chair (2011-2014), T.E.A.M. NAB (Technician Education in Additive Manufacturing National Advisory Board) Member 2011-2014, Museum of Science and Industry Fab-Lab Advisory Board Chicago (2009-2012), Editorial Advisory Board for Time Compression Technologies Magazine (2007-2011), Waubonsee Community College Industry Advisory Board (2008-10), Valley Industrial Association Board Member (2009-12), National Design and Manufacturing Conference Advisor 2005, National Plastics Exposition Conference Advisor 2006 and 2009 and Secretary of the 3D Systems North American Stereolithography Users Group 2003 and 2004. He has also served as the Chair of many specialty programs and conference sessions.