Microtech 2011
John A. Rogers

John A. Rogers


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Professor John A. Rogers obtained BA and BS degrees in chemistry and in physics from the University of Texas, Austin, in 1989. From MIT, he received SM degrees in physics and in chemistry in 1992 and the PhD degree in physical chemistry in 1995. From 1995 to 1997, Rogers was a Junior Fellow in the Harvard University Society of Fellows. During this time he also served as a Director for Active Impulse Systems, a company based on his PhD research that he co-founded in 1995 and which was acquired by a large company in 1998. He joined Bell Laboratories as a Member of Technical Staff in the Condensed Matter Physics Research Department in 1997, and served as Director of this department from 2000-2002. He currently holds a primary appointment in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and is affiliated with the Beckman Institute, the Materials Research Laboratory as well as the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mechanical Science and Engineering and Chemistry.

Rogers' research includes fundamental and applied aspects of nano and molecular scale fabrication as well as materials and patterning techniques for unusual format electronics and photonic systems. He has published >200 papers, and is co-inventor on >70 patents and patent applications, more than 40 of which are licensed or in active use by large companies (e.g. Lucent Technologies) and startups (e.g. Active Impulse Systems and Semprius).

His research has been recognized with many awards including, most recently the Xerox Distinguished Lecturer Award (2006) and the Dorn Lectureship in Materials Science at Northwestern University (2007), the Daniel Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the University of Illinois (2007) the Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award, from the American Chemical Society (2007). His teaching has been recognized many times through selection to the UIUC Unofficial List of Teachers Ranked Excellent by Their Students. Rogers was named a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2006, an inaugural Fellow of the Materials Research Society in 2007, and a Department of Defense National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow in 2009. He was named a 2009 MacArthur Fellow by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation and was recently named a 2010 IEEE Fellow. He serves, or has recently served, on several Editorial Boards, including those for Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics and Nano Letters. He also is Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology, and SPIE Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication and Microsystems.

Co-Chairing the symposium on Manufacturing at the Nanoscale; Overcoming Barriers to Commercialization

TechConnect World 2011 Nanotech 2011 Clean Technology 2011 Microtech 2011 BioNanotech 2011 TechConnect Summit 2011
Program | Symposia | Exhibition | Press | Venue | Register |
Short Courses | News | Subscribe | Contact | Site Map
© Copyright 2010 TechConnect World. All Rights Reserved.